Classic Club Meme – February

 “What classic has most surprised you so far, and why?”

James Joyce statue next to O'Connell street in...

James Joyce statue next to O’Connell street in Dublin. 

The classic club meme for February made me reflect upon the, still minute, list of book I’ve read for the Classic Club and made me realise first of all how few I have read up until now, but also how blown away I was by James Joyce. As mentioned in my post about The Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man I was quite weary about actually reading a book by James Joyce because I heard from many people how difficult and diffuse it was. I must admit at times it could be a tad difficult to follow, but overall I was amazed by this novel and still think I is one of the best books I read last year. This book has also made me quite curious to read other novels by Joyce (luckily I have to read Dubliners this term for a course) and I learned how to look at it as an Irish story as well.

 

One thought on “Classic Club Meme – February

  1. Whitney says:

    I really pleased to hear this as Joyce has always intimidated me. Maybe because of Ulysses.

Leave a Reply

